Board of Trustees

The Board’s primary mission is to assist the university in securing gifts, trusts, and bequests to nourish programs throughout the campus. Since its formation, the Board has been an instrumental force in driving the dynamic growth in private giving to Berkeley. The Board of Trustees serves as a primary advocacy group to the Chancellor and provides leadership for a united effort to ensure Berkeley’s continuing stature as one of the world’s preeminent institutions of higher learning.

With a diverse membership of elected trustees and elected executive officers, the Board of Trustees consists largely of Berkeley alumni and includes the Chancellor of UC Berkeley. Sixty-three members are elected Trustees, holding three-year terms, and 13 are elected executive officers serving two-year terms. Vice chancellors, deans, and other campus administrators serve as important advisors to the Foundation. Emeritus Trustees are elected in recognition of a lifetime of unusually distinguished service to the Foundation and serve as permanent members of the Foundation Board.

The Board of Trustees meets three times each year, although special meetings may be called at any time.